Math, Science, Power Tools and Shoes

I remember that I first fell in love with math when my Aunt Peggy taught me long division versus short division at the age of eight. I was so excited to be able to figure out the problems that I would try to see how fast I could solve a problem. In ninth grade, Mr. De La Vecchia introduced me to Algebra. My happiness sensory went into overload. Figuring out a+b=c or learning polynomials was so exciting for me!

Then there are sciences. I couldn’t wait to get to Mr. Wolfe’s class to see the next Physics demo or in my chemistry class to turn on the Bunsen burner to perform another experiment. I think I liked these two subjects, because mathematics was involved. It shouldn’t be a surprise that in my career I ended up using mathematics in all of the jobs I held in telecommunications. As a sales engineer, I had to determine how many IP addresses a client may need for the companies data network. I had to become certified in the design of networks via the Cisco certification process.

The part I love most about studying for my exams involved understanding binary codes and subnet masking. Learning about ASCII, ANSI, Hex, etc. codes was thrilling to me. I would engross myself into converting binary codes to IP addresses and back for hours! Knowing that as the IP 192.168.0.0 and is the beginning of a “C” class private IP address, sent my mind into happy land overdrive. Most of my girlfriends taught I was “nuts” of course. They couldn’t imagine I would give up my weekend to read a technical book.

I also love music because of math. There are eight notes that when rearranged make great melodies, but I see them in mathematical combination instead of arrangements or scores.  When I learned to dance the waltz or other types of dances, I was usually counting 1-2-3, 1-2-3 or 1-2-3-4. Again math came to my rescue.

Fear not, guys and dolls. I’m not totally geeky. I get the same happy feeling when I enter Home Depot or Lowes, and I walk in the power tool aisle only to see a Dewalt Cordless 18V Hammerdrill with double battery pack on sale for $100. I love power tools. Or when I walk into Macys and see a pair of shoes on sale, marked down from $120 to $20! Shucks it doesn’t even have to be Macy’s, any pair of shoes on sales anywhere gives me the same happy feelings I have for math.

Next time you are out and about, think about the great things mathematics and science has brought us. You may have a new appreciation for these two awesome subjects. I didn’t like learning English subject much or writing an essay, but I have grown to love words and how beautiful they are when used to express my love of people, places, things, mathematics and science.

Live a Diamond Life! Live a Life of Purpose!

Click to like my Facebook fan page: MarleneMBryanLLC

Visit my website: www.marlenembryan.com

 

Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. All of life is learning and everything has it’s own beauty. Even math. ; ) Especially when it’s used for markdowns as you’ve beautifully illustrated. Thanks for showing another side to numbers. BB2U

    Reply

Share your thoughts, opinion, experience...and share with others.

K E Garland

Inspirational kwotes, stories and images

SKYLARITY

Mindfulness, Spontaneity and Authenticity

Better For That

poetry, ponderings and play

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

theGoodVader

Growth, together

Amsterdam and Beyond

An Amsterdam Adventure Blog

Past Life Tourist

Brenda Ann Babinski

Critical Dispatches

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

The Truth Warrior

Empowering and Inspiring people to be fully authentic, loving, happy, peaceful and joyful in their lives.

Envision Your Future Online

Helping you Improve your Online Business

Chris Brake Show Podcast

LIVE! Every Wednesday @ 8pm Eastern / 7pm Central on StrangeLabel.com

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

Spiritual Insights for Everyday Life

By Lee & Annette Woofenden

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

Dream, Play, Write!

Today, make a commitment to your writing.

Hart Helps

explore ways to win the wars waged within the mind

The Neighborhood

society online's social conscious

